Albert Smith Culinary Chronicles

Albert Smith is the author’s most recent project and one which he expects to delight readers with. A year to the day after the death of his wife, seventy-eight-year-old retired police superintendent Albert decides to do as his wife always nagged and finally learn to cook.

He’s going to do it his way though, traveling around England to learn the dishes made famous by the towns from which they got their names. Eton Mess, Melton Mowbray pork pies, Shrewsbury tart to name just a few of those to be explored on his journey.

Of course, everywhere he goes there’s a body or two and he always hangs around long enough to let his keen policeman’s nose sniff out the culprit. He’s not alone though, he has a former police dog turned assistance dog named Rex Harrison with him. Rex has a bit of an attitude though so as the two of them get into scrapes and Rex gets them out, he always has something to say.

The first two books are already available – advance copies received incredible reviews and gushing demands for more, more, more of this comedy duo. You’ll have to decide for yourself, of course, but the author will be writing many, many more adventures in this series.

Reading order:

  • Pork Pie Pandemonium
  • Bakewell Tart Bludgeoning
  • Stilton Slaughter
  • Bedfordshire Clanger Calamity
  • Death of a Yorkshire Pudding
  • Cumberland Sausage Shocker
  • Arbroath Smokie Slaying
  • Dundee Cake Dispatch
  • Lancashire Hotpot Peril
  • Blackpool Rock Bloodshed